ChaCha's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Family Friday

with 2 comments

I can’t believe that I live just one half of a mile (maybe less) from the ocean and yet a trip to the beach is rare. Tonight, we had my mom, Darryl and the girls over for dinner. Afterwards we walked down to the beach. It was already around 8pm, so the weather was perfect! The poor dogs haven’t been to the beach in forever! Delta and Boo were desperately in need of a bath, anyway, so a trip to the sand was a great call. We all had a blast.

Darryl brought a kite that I bought him as a gift for Christmas (I think). It fell to the sand at one point. Boo broke loose and began to attack it. It was hilarious and refreshing to see Boo with such energy!

Even Paisley had a blast. I’m not sure whether it was the breeze coming off the ocean tickling her, or the excitement of the dogs running around, but she was making all sorts of happy sounds!

I think she sees the dogs as giant teddy bears or living cartoon characters. Nothing cracks her up like the dogs. I don’t usually let her touch them for a few reasons. First of all, they go out and eat/roll in god knows what and, being in the teething phase, Paisley’s hands are always in her mouth. I like to try to avoid exposing my child to something that could make her seriously ill. Secondly, the dogs aren’t completely comfortable with this weird, tiny creature that has completely taken over the house and our lives; so I like to spare them while I still can. Once in a while, though, I let her interact with them and touch them. I think it’s her favorite thing on the planet. She squeals with excitement!

Destiny and Gabby had a blast, too. A week or two ago, I had them plant cilantro and basil seeds in baby food jars. I’m quite surprised at how much they enjoy caring for them. After they water their seedlings, they always want to go look at the tomato and pepper plants in my little garden. I’m thinking we need to plant some more food items now that I have this free (yet unskilled) labor!

The girls loved the beach, too. I let them take Boo and Kittie running through the water (Delta isn’t as familiar/comfortable with the beach, so she stayed with us). They got soaked. Gabby walked home like she’d peed herself. I kept making fun of her but it didn’t seem to bother her as much as I would’ve liked 😉

My goal is to have more days like today: simple and fun.

20110611-010615.jpg

20110611-010631.jpg

20110611-010652.jpg

20110611-010724.jpg

Written by chachacharlene

June 11, 2011 at 5:06 am

Posted in journal

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a great story! I think you should be a writer, you definetly have a gift for writing. I loved it!

    Rosina G. Frank

    June 11, 2011 at 2:44 pm


Leave a Reply

